IAB Bookmarks Awards 2017

By: Leon Jamarie
Mar 22, 2017

For nine years, the IAB Bookmarks Awards have honoured those in the digital marketing industry and the 16th of March 2017 was no different. Held at the Galleria in Sandton, the IAB Bookmarks Awards 2017 saw accolades handed to the best and brightest in the digital industry, recognising the impact interactive advertising has on the overall marketing mix in South Africa.

Each year the IAB Bookmarks Awards sets the standard for technology, digital and cutting-edge innovation in the digital-sphere. The award-winning work honoured at the IAB Bookmarks Awards is that which inspires, stimulates and educates the industry on how a brand can be built through creative and high impact digital strategy that engages and entices the target audience

Photo Credit JoziStyle

The 2017 IAB Bookmarks Awards saw the following people, agencies and brands earning the most coveted awards of the evening-

Best Agency: Ogilvy

Best Contribution to Transformation in the Digital Industry: Livity Africa

Best Digital Student: Bernard Cloete, Julia Smith and De Wet Cilliers from Vega School

Best Digital Youngster: Katlego Phatlane – Promise

Best Individual Contribution to Digital: Matthew Buckland – Creative Spark

Best Marketer: Vanessa Singh – Nedbank

Best Publisher: News24 (a division of Media24)

Brand of the Year: KFC, with support from Ogilvy

The IAB Bookmarks Awards 2017 recognised and honoured South Africa’s digital industry’s top talent and best campaigns, with a record number of entries for being submitted to the awards this year. Upon congratulating the winners and nominees, Josephine Buys, CEO of the IAB SA said many of the campaigns exhibited cutting-edge digital knowledge and strategic relevance. “Our judges were inspired by the way our winning entrants combined courage, creativity and business savvy to create enduring work.”